top of page

Time Is A Valuable Thing - In The End 19 Years On

Updated: Oct 17, 2019

In The End is arguably one of Linkin Park's most iconic songs. From the immediately recognisable piano hook that opens the track and repeats throughout to the dual vocals that gave the track a truly unique and distinct sound, it became a true staple of not just rock, but 2000s music as a whole. In The End was the last single to be released from the band's debut album, Hybrid Theory, leaving a lasting impression on the world as it would go on to win the MTV Video Music Brazil for Best International Video and the MTV Video Music Awards for Best Rock Video in 2002, with the album still holding the title of best selling debut album of the 21st century.



It's hard to believe that In The End was a track that almost didn't make it onto the album. Chester told VMusic in 2012, "I don't really participate in picking singles. I learnt that after making Hybrid Theory. I was never a fan of 'In The End' and I didn't even want it to be on the record, honestly. How wrong could I have possibly been? I basically decided at that point I don't know what the fuck I'm talking about, so I leave that to other people who are actually talented at somehow picking songs that people are going to like the most." He continues, "But, you know, now I love 'In The End' and I think it's such a great song. I actually see how good of a song it is, it was just hard for me to see it at the time."



The remix version of the track, Enth E Nd, from 2002's remix album Reanimation allowed the track to fully explore the different dynamics and tones that the track could have. In an interview with MTV, Kutmasta Kurt said, "I just decided, ‘OK, I don’t know a lot about rock, but let me turn on KROQ while driving around L.A., where you spend a lot of time in your car. I kept hearing the song ‘In the End,’ and I was like, ‘OK, that’s the song I want to do. Hands down, that’s the one I want to do.’" When asked about his working relationship with Linkin Park, he revealed, "I think working with Linkin Park has been enlightening as well. Mainly because Mike Shinoda in particular is a cool person. When I say cool I mean down to earth, humble and basically everything most rappers aren't. I mean I know guys who've sold 2 or 3 hundred thousand albums and are 100 times more arrogant, while Linkin Park has sold 10's of millions yet they know how to work with people properly."



A resurgence in the song came when Mike started playing the track for his live Post Traumatic sets. The song would be prefaced with a story or memory about Chester before he asks the crowd to sing Chester's parts and starts the song. It became one of the most anticipated moments of the show, as it allowed the crowd to hear some lesser known stories about the frontman, as well as provide emotional catharsis.



Since Chester's passing over two years ago, many have gone to the video to share stories of what the song means to them, with the majority saying that In The End was the song that introduced them to the band or music in general. Hundreds of comments can be found on In The End's official music video alone.


For instance, one user wrote, "The first song that [made me] fall in love with Chester's voice and also Linkin Park". Another commenter wrote, "Old is gold, this is literally the theme of my childhood...", to which multiple users agreed, either saying "same" or "true". This sense of community and openness allows people to truly share their experiences with the band and In The End is one of the most prolific in terms of bringing people together.


Not only did Linkin Park's version of the song earn the track visibility and popularity, but a plethora of covers, mashups and remixes also garnered more attention for the original. This demonstrates the song's ability to transcend genres and lend its harrowing and powerful message to almost anything you could imagine. The official season 6 trailer for Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D featured a slowed-down, stripped-back female cover of the song, adding an ominous foreshadow for what was to come in the season.


Another popular remix of the song is Mellen Gi and Tommee Profitt's version, which features female vocals singing Chester's melodic vocals over piano on the verses as well as the chorus while the percussion and synths build around it as the track progresses. It's a unique take on the track and adds to the melancholic feel of the lyrics.



Additionally, one cover of the song by Ten Second Songs was endorsed by Chester himself, with a clip of the frontman at the end of the video. The cover demonstrates the song in twenty different styles and includes homages to artists such as Korn, Guns 'N' Roses and Frank Sinatra, showing the true versatility of the track.


Now more than ever, In The End is an important song. It demonstrates futility and hopelessness, but also determination and the will to carry on. The track always has been and undoubtedly always will be a huge part of Linkin Park's musical legacy and continue to find its audience in those that are struggling.


If you have been affected by any of the issues raised, help and resources can be found at Buddy Project.org.

172 views0 comments
bottom of page