top of page

LPFCW Team Celebrates Post Traumatic First Anniversary

One year ago today, Mike Shinoda released his debut solo album, Post Traumatic. With it, he gave millions of fans around the world something to look forward to for the first time in a while and allowed us to experience his emotions through his music once again.



The original three track EP that contained the songs Place To Start, Over Again and Watching As I Fall were the beginning to the mammoth sixteen tracks, and were followed by two singles that got released before the album’s release in June 2017, Nothing Makes Sense Anymore and About You. An instrumental track bridged the known and new tracks, allowing the listener some headspace before delving into new territory and included a brilliant musical transition between tracks, similar to the ones used on Linkin Park’s A Thousand Suns album. While Shinoda said that it was a reflection of his journey to recovery, the track order certainly reflects his statement from the Hollywood Bowl tribute show, where he said that “grief is like a roller-coaster of emotions and you never know when it’s gonna go left on you”. Ghosts, one of the more upbeat, positive songs on the record is shortly followed by the more melancholic and weighty Lift Off. It truly is a masterpiece of an album, with raw vulnerability and heart at its core and allows fans worldwide to connect and grieve with Mike himself. Mike also later released two bonus songs that were cut from the album, Prove You Wrong and What The Words Meant, on a coloured vinyl and streaming services to share more of his feelings with the world and today, on Post Traumatic’s year anniversary, Mike released an unfinished version of Crossing A Line with an alternative video, which you can watch below.



To celebrate this anniversary, we at LPFCW wanted to share with you some of our experiences meeting Mike on the Post Traumatic tour and our favourite moments from it. We hope you enjoy reading and encourage you to share your own stories in the comments!



"When I met Mike, it was all very surreal. I met him June 18th of last year in a music shop in NYC. I remember seeing [something] about a week and a half before that date, something that said all I had to do was show up and buy a copy of the new album and I'd get to meet him. So I travelled the 5 hours to meet him, and I remember the line being a mile long. Once I got into the store, and saw Mike right across the room, it was just a rush of, "Woah, this is happening?" I've idolised Linkin Park since I was a baby, so to me, I was about to meet my biggest role model. As I got closer and closer, I had all these ideas in my head about what I wanted to say to him, and I was super psyched. Once I got up to his table, my mind went dead, I got starstruck and couldn't form words in enough time, he signed a poster for me, and we took a picture together, only thing I was able to tell him was, "You're so cool!' To which he replied, 'No, YOU'RE so cool!' Than the store employees rushed me out and that was it. Than I drove the 5 hours back home and thought to myself, "Damn, why didn't I say more?" - Tim


Mike and Tim

"Meeting Mike was something that still doesn't feel real. I went to see him at Leeds Fest on the 26th August. I remember buying the tickets for me and my sister as soon as he was announced and he was the only act we went to see! The day before, I got the LPU confirmation email for the meet and greet, but my sister didn't. She promised me it was okay as long as I promised I'd ask if he was going to play I.O.U (he didn't). He wasn't the first on, so I waited with her at the barrier until I had to go to the meetup line and we were marched into a tent. We were all excited and talking when Mike came in and greeted us all. He came around the line and signed our stuff while chatting to us and was absolutely lovely. My friend had asked if I could ask if she was okay to get his face tattooed and he said, 'It's her body, she can do whatever she wants.' When we saw him again at the Roundhouse show in 2019, he saw her sign with the tattoo and signed it! After, I went back out to watch his set and managed to get back to my sister. It was really cathartic to sing along to all the songs (especially In The End and Make It Up As I Go) and hear his speech about Chester. He was so friendly and I cherish that day in my memories." - Hannah


Mike and Hannah

"I've said it a thousand times and I don't think I'll ever stop saying it: I'm so thankful for Mike. Seeing you live were the best experiences of my life and I will forever be grateful for them. Just as you said, the shows weren't just about grief. There were definitely moments of emotional, beautiful tribute, but for the most part, it was a fun, lively and energetic show with a strong familial atmosphere. You've come a long way and couldn't make Chester any prouder. We love you to no end Mike, and I can't wait to see what will come in the future. I will support you through everything. You are my source of happiness and strength and I can never thank you enough." - Jane


Mike and Jane

"Post Traumatic is a very important album to me. It helped me, like a lot of you, to get through one of the most devastating losses to our LP Family. I honestly do not know if I would've been able to process through my grief without it. For Mike to work through his grief and put out an album to help us all do the same was so heroic of him. (Not to mention coming together with so many to put on a memorial show at the Hollywood Bowl, which I was fortunate enough to attend!) Meeting Mike Shinoda for the first time, during the Post Traumatic tour in Chicago, was one of the most wonderful moments of my life. He is my hero and one of the kindest people. Our meet and greet was running late due to the venue staff not being well-prepared. Mike still took the time to laugh and chat with us. He's so smart, funny and compassionate. He also signed something for everyone. In fact, Mike signed my arm, which I had tattooed in the next day and will cherish forever. The show that night was very cathartic in many ways. I met several amazing people, who I am proud to call my friends. We all sang together while living our best lives and honoring Chester at the same time. I could not have asked for a better experience! Thank you so much Mike. For everything. There aren't enough words in my vocabulary to properly express my true feelings. Everyone should aspire to be more like you, and I truly hope that I can meet you again someday." - Kim


Mike and Kim

"The day I met Mike Shinoda I was very excited! They emailed me from the LPU forum like a day before that I had won the contest to meet him on June 24th 2018 at the Amoeba show in Hollywood. His album Post Traumatic has helped me a lot with the pain of losing Chester and I thank him for that and for all the things that he has done for all of his fans. The day of the show he greeted all of the fans that were waiting outside of Amoeba for a long time and some were even waiting all night to make sure they had a chance to see him, so he invited all of them to meet and greet him after the show. When it was my turn, I gave him a big hug and told him I was proud of him. I can’t wait to see him again!" - Selene


Mike and Selene

These were our stories! Let us know how Post Traumatic helped you and share your own thoughts with others in the comments!


If you have been affected by any of the issues raised, help and resources can be found at Buddy Project.

36 views0 comments
bottom of page